Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Real Madrid reserves score controversial winner as two balls end up in net

0

REAL MADRID’S reserve team were allowed to score a controversial winner – despite TWO BALLS ending up in the net.

It saw them triumph over Atletico Baleares to win the game 1-0 in the Spanish third division.

Nico Paz whipped a free kick in

3

Nico Paz whipped a free kick inCredit: X
A second ball was thrown onto the pitch as Villapalos made contact with it

3

A second ball was thrown onto the pitch as Villapalos made contact with itCredit: X
Two balls were in the net by the time the first had crossed the line

3

Two balls were in the net by the time the first had crossed the lineCredit: X

The incident took place after Real Madrid Castilla midfielder Nico Paz whipped the ball in from a free-kick, and the ball was deflected by Baleares midfielder Alberto Villapalos into his own net.

But just as Villapalos made contact with the match ball, a second one was thrown by a fan directly at him.

And with Villapalos outstretched and helpless, the second ball bounced directly off him and into his own net too.

That led to the Baleares players to appeal for the goal to be disallowed given that there were two balls on the pitch at the same time.

This would usually lead to the game being stopped.

Given the match ball was virtually already in the net when the second ball made contact with Villapalos, the referee used common sense and allowed the goal to stand.

Marca asked Spanish refereeing expert Alfonso Pérez Burrull to explain the decision.

The ex-ref said: “You have to award a goal. Unless it interferes, you have to consider the goal valid. You don’t have to give value to the trick from the stands.”

CASINO SPECIAL – BEST CASINO WELCOME OFFERS

Madrid fans on X were quick to see the funny side of the incident.

One fan posted: “It should count as two goals haha.”

Jude Bellingham stunned after journalist asks if he ‘wants to go home with her’

A second fan wrote: “It doesn’t influence the play, so it’s well granted, but what s****y football we have in Spain.”

A third wrote: “A joke… if the ball lands half a second before the goal doesn’t count and the brainless [fans] achieve their goal.”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.