Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Ring announcer Lt Dan Hennessey retires after accidentally revealing wrong champ

0

BOXING ring announced Lt Dan Hennessey has retired after accidentally announcing the wrong winner in a horror blunder.

The bizarre moment came at the weekend in the WBA bantamweight title fight between Cherneka Johnson and Nina Hughes in New Zealand.

Lt Dan Hennessey has retired after announcing the wrong winner in a boxing match

4

Lt Dan Hennessey has retired after announcing the wrong winner in a boxing matchCredit: X formerly Twitter / @trboxing
He declared Nina Hughes to still be the world WBA bantamweight champ even though she lost

4

He declared Nina Hughes to still be the world WBA bantamweight champ even though she lostCredit: X formerly Twitter / @trboxing

The two brawlers put on a top show as they battled all the way through 10 rounds.

And after a tight contest, the result went to the judges’ scorecards.

Challenger Johnson was the victor with a split decision.

But instead of announcing her as the new champ, Hennessey mistakenly told the crowd that Hughes had retained her title.

The English scrapper celebrated wildly in the ring after the wrong call.

And Hennessey was forced to backtrack before revealing that Johnson was indeed the true winner.

But after backlash from Hughes and some fans, Hennessey has now announced his retirement.

He declared: “I love all the support from everyone. Thank you all for the kind words.

CASINO SPECIAL – BEST CASINO WELCOME OFFERS

“Unfortunately the worldwide backlash is absolutely incredible and it’s effecting my mental health to a degree where I will have 1 more show ever.

“I am doing this show because I am still a man of my word and promised Sam Rapira that I would do it because he is a great mate and I refuse to leave him hanging.

Footage emerges of John Fury getting KO’d TWICE in boxing career after claiming ‘we can’t be beat’ in headbutt storm
Hennessey eventually revealed Cherneka Johnson had actually won the fight

4

Hennessey eventually revealed Cherneka Johnson had actually won the fightCredit: X formerly Twitter / @trboxing
Hughes was left fuming with the error, forcing Hennessey to apologise

4

Hughes was left fuming with the error, forcing Hennessey to apologiseCredit: X formerly Twitter / @trboxing

“I love and will keep in touch with all my friends from around the world. Thank you. No longer the world’s punching bag. I’m out.”

On Sunday, Hennessey had offered a heartfelt apology for his error.

He said: “I own it. It’s all on me. I take full responsibility for the Chernika Johnson V Nina Houghs controversy.

“Not the Judges, not the sanctioned body. Me. I have apologized to all involved and now I apologize to you. I am sorry for what happened.

“Again I own it and can only try and do better next time. Not my best day in the office. I guess all the s****y comments on socials I have coming.

“Again I am crushed and sorry for my s***storm of a performance. You all deserved better. Sorry again.”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.